Congratulations to the inaugural America250 Award recipients! Learn more about them.

America250 Awards

Honoring Exemplary Americans

America250 is teaming up with the NFL for the America250 Awards – a multiyear awards program recognizing exemplary Americans.

Congratulations to the inaugural America250 Award recipients Shreyaa Venkat of Ashburn, Virginia, Army Sgt. 1st Class Christopher Braman of Orange County, California and Police Sgt. Almedin Ajanovic of Dacula, Georgia. They were respectively recognized in the “Community Champion,” “9/11 Hero,” and “First Responder” award categories. The award categories were inspired by and are in honor of the 20th anniversary of the 9/11 attacks.

  • 9/11 Hero: Someone who responded with heroism to the tragic events of September 11, 2001 or who was inspired by the courageous acts of that day.
  • First Responder: Someone who is a present-day hero and answers the call in response to emergencies and tragic events. 
  • Community Champion: Someone who embodies the everyday courage of our country’s extraordinary citizens who take heroic action to make local communities better. 

Learn More

Designing the America250 Awards

The America250 Awards stand 14 inches tall and weigh 6.625 pounds, the state-of-the-art cast bronze sculpture forms an unbroken loop of bending perspectives, representing the dynamism, renewal, and lasting durability of the American project. The design also forms a star when viewed from above – a longtime symbol of our nation and its heroes. 

Designed and handcrafted by Bennett Awards, a family-owned company based in Placerville, California, America250 will present the custom award to each Honoree.

Meet the 2021 America250 Awards Judges

The 2021 America250 Awards Honorees are selected by a panel of six distinguished judges, each embodying the core values of the program: a lasting commitment to their community, a willingness to rise up in the face of adversity, and a selflessness that resembles the American Spirit on 9/11.

The panelists include: Joe Daniels, America250 Foundation; Kathy-Roth Douquet, Blue Star Families; Usama Young, National Football League; Terry G. Sears, Tuesday’s Children; Val Crofts, U.S. Semiquincentennial Commission; and Elisha Rhodes, YWCA USA. Learn more about our judges below.

As someone who loves this country and is deeply patriotic, I am honored to be serving as a judge for the America250 Awards. There is no better feeling than being able to recognize the accomplishments of devoted Americans.” – Joe Daniels, America250 Foundation President & CEO