Congratulations to the inaugural America250 Award recipients! Learn more about them.

History Education

History Education Advisory Council

The History Education Advisory Council will work to deepen our shared understanding of the nation’s past and broaden our understanding of each other as Americans. This begins by developing and improving access to history education resources for students of all ages and enhancing professional development for educators in both formal and informal educational settings.

*The listed organization, institution, or company is not affiliated with America250.
**The member is serving in their individual capacity and not as a representative of their organization.
***The member is serving as an official organizational representative as part of the national partnership agreement between America250 and their respective organization. 


Interim Dean for the School of Graduate Studies and Research, Florida A&M University*

Emeritus, History Channel*


Garry Adelman**

Chief Historian, American Battlefield Trust

Niya M. Bates**

Ph.D. Candidate, Princeton*

Kevin Cline**

Department Chair for Social Studies and Teacher, Frankton High School*

Christy S. Coleman**

Executive Director, Jamestown-Yorktown Foundation*

Sergio de Alba**

Teacher, R. M. Miano Elementary*

John Dichtl***

President & CEO, American Association for State and Local History

Dr. Amma Y. Ghartey-Tagoe Kootin**

Vice President, Creative Affairs, JusticeRx*; Lead Artist + Executive Producer, AT BUFFALO: A New Musical*

Cathy Gorn***

Executive Director, National History Day

Dr. James Grossman**

Executive Director, American Historical Association*

Karalee Nakatsuka**

History Teacher, First Avenue Middle School*

Dr. Colleen Shogan**

Senior Vice President, White House Historical Association*

Dr. Gabrielle Tayac**

Associate Professor of Public History, George Mason University*

Dr. Tuyen Tran**

Assistant Director, California History-Social Science Project*

Jack Warren**

Executive Director, The American Revolution Institute of the Society of the Cincinnati*