Delaware, Missouri, U.S. Virgin Islands, And Wyoming Join Growing Momentum In Preparing For America’s Semiquincentennial In 2026

37 America250 state and territorial commissions have been established to date

State commissions are amplifying new nationwide public awareness and engagement campaign, “America’s Invitation”

Washington, DC – Planning for America’s Semiquincentennial is gaining momentum as three states, Delaware, Missouri, and Wyoming, and one U.S. territory, the U.S. Virgin Islands, established their respective America250 State Commissions. South Dakota also recently reorganized their state entity from an executive committee to a full-fledged commission. These new commissions bring the total number of America250 state or territorial entities to 37, a remarkable milestone as the country approaches its 250th anniversary in three years. America250 is working with every U.S. state, territory, and the District of Columbia to form their own respective America250 entities to ensure an inclusive and impactful commemoration of this historic milestone. Over the next three years, America250 will work with each state and territorial entity to foster collaboration and ensure broad participation around the nation’s 250th commemoration.“The addition of Delaware, Missouri, U.S. Virgin Islands, and Wyoming to the growing roster of state and territorial commissions signifies the momentum and enthusiasm that is building across the country as we approach this historic milestone in 2026,“ said Rosie Rios, Chair of the U.S. Semiquincentennial Commission. “Each state and territory adds its own distinctive brushstroke to the vibrant American tapestry, and united, we shall forge a commemoration that authentically captures the richness and diversity of our great nation.” State commissions have already played an important role in helping America250 launch “America’s Invitation,” a new nationwide public awareness and engagement initiative unveiled on July 4th that invites the public to share their own unique American stories — about their communities, cultures, neighborhoods — and their hopes and dreams for the future. America250 state and territorial commissions are at the forefront of engaging their communities and building the grassroots civic engagement necessary to ensure 2026 marks the largest, most inclusive commemoration in American history. These commissions serve as vital catalysts in uniting citizens from diverse backgrounds, fostering a sense of shared heritage, and shaping the narrative of America’s journey over the past 250 years.

The 37 established state and territorial commissions include Alabama, Arizona, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, U.S. Virgin Islands, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.

Americans can submit photos, videos, essays, artwork, songs, and other content as part of America’s Invitation at

To learn more about America250 and the state and territorial commissions, please visit

About America250

America250 is a nonpartisan initiative working to engage every American in commemorating the 250th anniversary of our country, spearheaded by the congressionally-appointed U.S. Semiquincentennial Commission made up of 16 private citizens, 4 U.S. Representatives and 4 Senators, along with 12 ex officio members representing all three branches of the federal government, and its nonprofit supporting organization, the America250 Foundation. This multi-year effort, from now through July 4, 2026, is an opportunity to pause and reflect on our nation’s past, honor the contributions of all Americans, and look to the future we want to create for the next generation and beyond. To learn more, visit, and follow us on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, and LinkedIn.