America250 Applauds Reps. Watson Coleman & Aderholt, Sens. Shaheen & Grassley For Spearheading Bipartisan Legislation To Bury A Time Capsule On Capitol Grounds As Part Of 250th Commemoration

Washington, D.C. – Last week, U.S. Representatives Bonnie Watson Coleman (NJ-12) and Robert Aderholt (AL-04), introduced the bipartisan Semiquincentennial Congressional Time Capsule Act, followed by a companion bill introduced by U.S. Senators Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH) and Chuck Grassley (R-IA). Representatives Watson Coleman and Aderholt as well as Senator Shaheen sit on the U.S. Semiquincentennial Commission. The legislation is cosponsored by dozens of members of congress, including Representatives Maria Elvira Salazar (FL-27) and Dwight Evans (PA-03) – both members of the U.S. Semiquincentennial Commission.

The bill would direct the Architect of the Capitol to create a time capsule to be buried in the west lawn of the Capitol, which would remain sealed until July 4, 2276, the nation’s 500th anniversary. This marks the second major time capsule slated to be buried as part of the commemoration of the 250th anniversary of the nation’s founding, with another to be buried in Independence Mall in Philadelphia on July 4, 2026.

In keeping with the 250th commemorations’ commitment to bipartisanship, the capsule’s contents will be selected by the Office of the Speaker of the House, the Office of the Minority Leader of the House, and the Offices of the Majority and Minority Leaders of the Senate. The items chosen will represent monumental legislative milestones and a letter to the future Congress with lessons from the past and hopes for the future.

America’s 250th anniversary is an opportunity for all Americans to reflect on our past, honor the contributions of the American people, and forge ahead toward our future, together,” Rosie Rios, U.S. Semiquincentennial Commission Chair, said. “I’d like to thank Representative Watson Coleman, Senator Grassley, Senator Shaheen, and their dozens of House and Senate cosponsors for spearheading this bipartisan legislation which will play an important role in marking this historic milestone. It’s thanks to their support, collaboration and leadership that we’re able to build towards the most significant and inclusive commemoration in our nation’s history.”

House cosponsors include Representatives Maria Elvira Salazar (FL-27), Dwight Evans (PA-03), Brendan Boyle (PA-02), Don Davis (NC-01), Josh Gottheimer (NJ-05), Tom Kean, Jr. (NJ-07), Mike Lawler (NY-17), Lisa McClain (MI-09), Troy Nehls (TX-22), Chris Pappas (NH-01), Jamie Raskin (MD-08), Glenn “GT” Thompson (PA-15), Dina Titus (NV-01), Paul Tonko (NY-20), Lori Trahan (MA-03), and Robert Wittman (VA-01).

Senate cosponsors include U.S. Senators Thom Tillis (R-NC), Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Bob Casey (D-PA), and Mike Rounds (R-SD).