America 250.

Look for our new website
Coming Soon

Celebrate The Semiquin

With the U.S. Semiquincentennial Commission

2026 marks the 250th anniversary of our nation's founding. To observe this momentous occasion, the U.S. Semiquincentennial Commission will encourage Americans to remember our past, celebrate the present, and look forward to a promising future. We are reaching out to individuals, communities, state and local governments, cultural institutions, national parks and proud partners across the country over the next six years — to inspire the American spirit in ways that are meaningful to all.

America 250 celebration banner.

About the U.S. Semiquincentennial Commission

The U.S. Semiquincentennial Commission was established by Congress to inspire all Americans and each American to participate in our greatest milestone ever — the 250th anniversary of the founding of the United States. We're charged with orchestrating the largest and most inclusive anniversary observance in our nation's history. The Commission will work with public and private entities across the country to make America 250 a once-in-a-lifetime experience for all Americans.

Members of Congress

  • Senator Robert Casey of Pennsylvania
  • Senator Tom Cotton of Arkansas
  • Senator Jeanne Shaheen of New Hampshire
  • Senator Pat Toomey of Pennsylvania
  • Representative Robert Aderholt of Alabama
  • Representative Dwight Evans of Pennsylvania
  • Representative George Holding of North Carolina
  • Representative Bonnie Watson Coleman of New Jersey

Ex Officio Members

  • Secretary of the Interior, David Bernhardt
  • Secretary of State, Mike Pompeo
  • Attorney General, William Barr
  • Secretary of Defense, Dr. Mark T. Esper
  • Secretary of Education, Betsy DeVos
  • Librarian of Congress, Dr. Carla Hayden
  • Secretary of the Smithsonian Institution, Lonnie G. Bunch III
  • Archivist of the United States, David S. Ferriero
  • Presiding Officer of the Federal Council on the Arts and the Humanities, Vacant

Private Citizens

  • Robert Brady of Pennsylvania
  • David Cohen of Pennsylvania
  • Val Crofts of Wisconsin
  • Daniel DiLella of Pennsylvania (Chairman)
  • Cathy Gillespie of Virginia
  • Noah Griffin of California
  • Amy Gutmann of Pennsylvania
  • Andrew Hohns of Pennsylvania
  • Jim Koch of Massachusetts
  • Lucas Morel of Virginia
  • Wilfred McClay of Oklahoma
  • Rosie Rios of California
  • James Swanson of Washington, DC
  • Richard Trumka of Maryland
  • Thomas Walker of Alabama
  • Lynn Forney Young of Texas
News Release: Vice President Pence Meets With Commission to Advance Plans for Nationwide America 250 Celebration