SANTA FE, NEW MEXICO– New Mexico Governor Michelle Lujan Grisham has signed SB 106, establishing New Mexico’s Semiquincentennial Commission — a state entity entrusted with planning the state’s commemorative activities for the 250th anniversary of the signing of the Declaration of Independence in 2026. In collaboration with America250, the official nonpartisan initiative working to engage every American in commemorating and celebrating the nation’s Semiquincentennial, the New Mexico Semiquincentennial Commission will work to honor the unique history, traditions, and contributions of the state while embracing the shared values and aspirations of the American people.

“America250 extends a warm welcome to New Mexico as it establishes its own Commission, joining numerous states and territories to orchestrate commemorative events and initiatives in celebration of the nation’s 250th anniversary,” said Rosie Rios, Chair of the U.S. Semiquincentennial Commission. “The New Mexico Commission will play a pivotal role in enhancing and enriching the tapestry of our nation’s 250th anniversary, ensuring that the diverse voices of all Americans are celebrated during this monumental milestone. I extend my sincerest appreciation to State Senator Bill Sharer, the bill’s sponsor, and Governor Lujan Grisham for signing it into law. I look forward to collaborating as we honor the significant history, culture, and invaluable contributions of the people of New Mexico.”

“New Mexico joins in the celebration of the signing of the Declaration of Independence and the great nation it has created,” said New Mexico Senator William “Bill” Sharer (R), representing District 1. “New Mexico’s cultural roots run deep and its addition as a state in 1912 spurred its growth and significance in the nation and world.”

With New Mexico now on board, 43 states and territories have announced Semiquincentennial entities as America250 works to establish a Commission in all 50 states, 5 territories, and the District of Columbia. The established state and territorial Commissions include Alabama, American Samoa, Arizona, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Georgia, Hawaiʻi, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, U.S. Virgin Islands, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming, and the District of Columbia.



About America250

America250 is a nonpartisan initiative working to engage every American in commemorating and celebrating the 250th anniversary of our country, spearheaded by the congressionally-appointed U.S. Semiquincentennial Commission made up of 16 private citizens, 4 U.S. Representatives and 4 Senators, along with 12 ex officio members representing all three branches of the federal government, and its nonprofit supporting organization,, Inc. This multi-year effort, from now through July 4, 2026, is an opportunity to pause and reflect on our nation’s past, honor the contributions of all Americans, and look to the future we want to create for the next generation and beyond. To learn more, visit, and follow us on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, and LinkedIn.