Media Inquiries

All media members seeking interviews, facts, and images and America250 art, please reach out to [email protected].

What is America250?

America250 is the multiyear commemoration of the 250th anniversary of the United States of America. The official commemorative period runs from 2020 to 2027, but the real culmination is on July 4, 2026. Our charter is inclusive of our country’s entire history, representing the diverse stories, peoples, places, and events that have shaped our nation. The 250th anniversary is technically called a semiquincentennial. Since that is a bit of a mouthful, we are calling it “America250.”

What is the U.S. Semiquincentennial Commission?

The U.S. Semiquincentennial Commission was established by Congress as the official body tasked with planning and orchestrating the 250th anniversary of the United States of America. The Commission aims to inspire all Americans to participate in the largest and most inclusive commemoration in our nation’s history through local, state, national, and international engagement.

Who appointed the members of the Commission?

The Commission was appointed by the House and Senate leadership of both parties after Congress unanimously passed the United States Semiquincentennial Commission Act in 2016. And via the passage of the Semiquincentennial Commission Amendments Act of 2020 (PL 116-282), the Commission is composed of members of all three branches of government (Executive, Legislative, and Judicial) as well as private citizens:

  • Eight members of Congress—four from the House and four from the Senate, of which four are Republicans and four are Democrats
  • 16 private citizens
  • 13 heads of federal agencies designated as non-voting ex-officio members

What is the America250 Foundation?

The America250 Foundation is the nonprofit partner of the U.S. Semiquincentennial Commission. The Foundation works collaboratively with the Commission to provide a robust public-private partnership to bring the vision for America250 to life. The Foundation is led by Interim President/CEO, Scott Hommel, who works alongside the Board of Directors, and leads a dedicated staff focused on planning and executing the Commission’s vision and legislative charge.