Goal set for all 56 states and territories to form America250 commissions by 2023

Eighteen states have created commissions to join in the America250 effort to mark America’s 250th anniversary of independence on July 4, 2026. The states are: Alabama, Kentucky, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Nebraska, New Jersey, North Carolina, North Dakota, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, and West Virginia. Three states – Kansas, New York, and Wisconsin – are in the process of commission formation.

As outlined in the congressional legislation mandating the establishment of the U.S. Semiquincentennial Commission, engaging states and territories in the national America250 effort is a key element in building the most comprehensive and inclusive nationwide commemoration in history. All 56 states (including the District of Columbia) and territories are encouraged to form – through legislation or executive order – their official America250 commission, entity, or organization, that will lead their planning and coordinate with the national effort.

State partners support

With collaboration and guidance provided by the America250 Foundation, it is hoped that all 56 commissions will be formed by 2023. The Foundation plans to bring each commission on as an official ‘state partner,’ providing official America250 brand marks, organizational support, and national convenings to share best practices and strategy. In addition, the Foundation is providing $10,000 grants to support states and territories in the early stages of their commission buildout.

“On July 4, 2026, our country will mark 250 years since we declared independence as a nation. Each state’s and territory’s connection to that specific moment in history varies, but we all have something to commemorate during this milestone. We encourage states and territories to look at the full sweep of American history, from before the Revolution to today, and honor their role in the larger story as we recognize the anniversary,” said Anna Laymon, America250 Foundation vice president of programs and planning.

Kelsey Millay, director of state partnerships for the America250 Foundation, added, “The nation’s 250th is an important opportunity for states and territories to spur local tourism and interest, and to share their unique stories and contributions to our country with people throughout the United States and around the world.”

In the coming weeks and months, new state commissions will be announced by the states themselves, on America250 social handles and at the Newsroom at

About America250, the U.S. Semiquincentennial Commission and America250 Foundation

America250 is a multiyear effort to commemorate the semiquincentennial, or 250th anniversary, of the United States. The purpose of the U.S. Semiquincentennial Commission, created by Congress, and the corresponding America250 Foundation is to catalyze a more perfect union by designing and leading the most comprehensive and inclusive celebration in our country’s history. America250 represents a coalition of public and private partners all working to create initiatives and programs that honor our first 250 years and inspire Americans to imagine our next 250. The commemoration period began in 2020, culminates on July 4, 2026, and officially concludes in 2027. For more information, visit and follow us on Facebook, Twitter , Instagram and TikTok.


Media Contact:

Keri Potts, VP Communications and Public Relations, America250, [email protected]