PAGO PAGO, AMERICAN SAMOA – American Samoa Governor Lemanu Palepoi Sialega Mauga has signed an executive order creating the America250 Commission of American Samoa – a state entity entrusted with planning the territory’s commemorative activities for the 250th anniversary of the founding of the United States in 2026. In collaboration with America250, the official nonpartisan initiative working to engage every American in commemorating the nation’s Semiquincentennial, the America250 Commission of American Samoa is committed to honoring the unique history, traditions, and contributions of the territory, while embracing the shared values and aspirations of the American people.

“America250 gives a warm welcome to American Samoa as it joins dozens of states and territories in planning commemorative events and programs in honor of the nation’s 250th anniversary,” said Rosie Rios, U.S. Semiquincentennial Commission Chair. “The America250 commission of American Samoa will strengthen and enrich the fabric of our nation’s 250th anniversary, ensuring that the voices of all Americans are lifted up as part of this historic commemoration. I express my deepest gratitude to Governor Lemanu, and look forward to collaborating as we recognize the important history, culture, and indelible contributions of the people of American Samoa.”

“We are thrilled to announce the launch of the America250 Commission of American Samoa and to embark on this journey of celebration, reflection, and unity,” said Governor Lemanu Palepoi Sialega Mauga. “As we commemorate America’s 250th anniversary, we recognize the importance of honoring our past, celebrating our present, and shaping our future. Together, we will showcase the vibrant tapestry of American Samoa’s culture and heritage while reaffirming our commitment to the ideals of freedom, equality, and opportunity.”

With American Samoa now on board, there are 42 states and territories that have announced semiquincentennial entities as America250 works to establish a commission in all 56 states, territories, and the District of Columbia. The established state and territorial commissions include Alabama, American Samoa, Arizona, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Georgia, Hawaiʻi, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, U.S. Virgin Islands, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming, and the District of Columbia.


About America250

America250 is a nonpartisan initiative working to engage every American in commemorating the 250th anniversary of our country, spearheaded by the congressionally-appointed U.S. Semiquincentennial Commission made up of 16 private citizens, 4 U.S. Representatives and 4 Senators, along with 12 ex officio members representing all three branches of the federal government, and its nonprofit supporting organization, This multi-year effort, from now through July 4, 2026, is an opportunity to pause and reflect on our nation’s past, honor the contributions of all Americans, and look to the future we want to create for the next generation and beyond. To learn more, visit, and follow us on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, and LinkedIn.