Honolulu, HI – Hawaiʻi Governor Josh Green, M.D. has signed an executive order creating the Hawaiʻi Semiquincentennial Commission – a state entity entrusted with planning Hawaiʻi’s commemorative activities for the 250th anniversary of the founding of the United States. In collaboration with America250, the official nonpartisan initiative working to engage every American in commemorating the nation’s Semiquincentennial, the Hawai’i

America250 commission will play a key role in promoting and coordinating civic engagement leading up to 2026. With Hawai’i on board, there are now 41 states and territories with semiquincentennial entities as America250 works to establish a commission in all 56 states, territories, and the District of Columbia.

“America250 is embarking on a mission to create the largest and inclusive commemoration in U.S. history, and Hawai’i’s participation is vital to our efforts,” said Rosie Rios, U.S. Semiquincentennial Commission Chair. “Hawaiʻi’s unique history, cultures, and geography offer an opportunity to honor and reflect on the state’s lasting impact on our country’s fabric. I would like to express my gratitude to Governor Green for establishing this commission and extend a warm welcome to our latest state partner. We are excited to collaborate with the Hawaiʻi Semiquincentennial Commission to reflect on the state’s unique history, celebrate its rich native culture, and lift the stories, hopes, and dreams of the people of Hawai’i as we commemorate the nation’s 250th anniversary.”

“Hawaiʻi’s participation in the national America250 celebrations marks a special opportunity to promote civic education and engagement across our state’s democratic institutions,” said Governor Josh Green, M.D. “I look forward to working with Hawaiʻi’s Semiquincentennial Commission to promote a greater understanding of our country’s journey—and Hawaiʻi’s part in this journey.”

The 41 established state and territorial commissions include Alabama, Arizona, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Georgia, Hawaiʻi, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, U.S. Virgin Islands, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming, and the District of Columbia.