AUGUSTA, ME – On July 31, 2023, Governor Janet Mills signed into law LD 1029, officially establishing the “Maine Semiquincentennial Commission,” making Maine the 38th state or territory to join the historic, nationwide effort to commemorate the United States Semiquincentennial. Working in collaboration with America250, the commission will play a pivotal role in fostering civic engagement and facilitating coordinated commemorations in Maine leading up to the 250th anniversary of the United States of America in 2026.

America250 is encouraging every U.S. state, territory, and the District of Columbia to form their own respective America250 entities to ensure an inclusive and impactful commemoration of this historic milestone. Over the next three years, America250 will work with each state and territorial entity to promote collaboration and ensure broad participation during this momentous occasion.

“I am deeply grateful to Governor Mills and Maine’s state legislature for joining the national effort to commemorate the 250th anniversary of our country’s founding,” said Rosie Rios, U.S. Semiquincentennial Commission Chair. “Thanks to their leadership and that of states and territories across the nation, we are on a path to developing the most inclusive and significant anniversary our country has ever seen. The Maine Semiquincentennial Commission is going to play a big role in making sure the rich history, contributions, and heritage of Mainers are spotlighted as we come together and uplift the stories of Americans far and wide.”

“The 250th Anniversary of our country’s founding is the perfect time to explore and celebrate our history and reflect on how our communities have grown and changed over time,” said Secretary of State Shenna Bellows, whose Department will convene Maine’s Semiquincentennial Commission. “Mainers have played unique and important roles in our country’s history, and we look forward to partnering with communities across the state and nation to ensure broad representation and participation in this exciting milestone commemoration.”

The 38 established state and territorial commissions include Alabama, Arizona, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, U.S. Virgin Islands, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.